LISFL Hall of Fame Dinner To Be Held November 22

It is with great pleasure that the Long Island Soccer Football League (LISFL) announces the creation of a Hall of Fame for the league to honor the contributions it’s members have made to the game of soccer and it’s development on Long Island. Read more

Hicksville, NY - It is with great pleasure that the Long Island Soccer Football League (LISFL) announces the creation of a Hall of Fame for the league to honor the contributions its members have made to the league and development of soccer on Long Island. Currently celebrating its 65th anniversary, the LISFL is the adult amateur soccer league for Long Island. Clubs that are affiliated with the league play in national, state, and local competitions as well as league matches in first, second, third, Over-30, Over-40, and now Over-50 divisions. The LISFL also holds the Ryder-Vass Under-23 Summer Tournament.

"We have been working on this for several years and are very excited to see it come to fruition", said LISFL President Gus Xikis. Forty eight individuals will be inducted at a Hall of Fame dinner, which will be held Friday, November 22 at Floral Terrace in Floral Park, NY.

"There are so many individuals who belong in the LISFL Hall of Fame and we will be inducting all of them in the years to come", said Xikis. "We created a committee to decide who should be inducted this year, and we all agreed that we had to start with the Presidents of the league, members of the U.S. National Hall of Fame and Eastern New York Hall of Fame, those who we’ve honored in the past by naming our League Cup competitions after them, and an inductee submitted by many of the clubs."

Several of the inductees have passed away, and will be honored posthumously. The LISFL is currently in the process of contacting each individual to invite them to the dinner and prepare bios. 

"A Hall of Fame is created to remember and celebrate the past", said Xikis. "We hope to not only do that, but also share with everyone how special this league is."

Tickets to the dinner are limited, but can be purchased by calling Dinner Chairman Joe Brosi at (917) 685-4685 or e-mail Tickets cost $100 per person and must be purchased by October 25, 2013.

A commerative journal will be given to all attendees. Those interested in placing an advertisement in the journal can send this completed form to the LISFL office. For more information on advertising in the journal, please call the LISFL Office at (516) 433-1880 or e-mail

2013 LISFL Hall of Fame - Inaugural Class of Inductees                                        

Past Presidents:

Karl Weber (founder)

Walter Fritsch

Fred Edwards

Lief Fried

Art Leseberg

John McKim

Pat Ryder

Victor Mevo

Luigi Pelini

Joseph Rietschlin

Anthony Cangero

Bruce Friedman

Gus Xikis (Active President)


National Hall Of Fame:

Lloyd Monsen


Eastern New York Hall of Fame:

Chris Armas

Carlo Bucich

Orlando Byfield

Syd Crossley

Pasquale DeLuca

Willie Dempsey

Dieter Emmerling

Joseph Goldberg

Marco Malusa

Glenn Mernone

Kevin Reardon

George Snizek

Enrico Varani


LISFL Honorees

Gunner Hertwig - Reserve Division Cup

John Pereira - Second Division Champions

Joseph Themann - Second Division Cup

Gil Beanland - Sportsmanship Awards

Paul Vass - Under 23 Summer Tournament


LISFL Club Nominees:

Danilo Blaskovic - Astoria

Joe Brosi - College Point

John Carty - Islip S.C.

Donato Cellucci - NY Hota Bavarians

Marciano Cipriano - Forest Park

Alfredo D’Antonio - Oceanside S.C

Fabio Espinell - Lynbrook

Yuri Fishman - Massapequa

Seamus Gillen - N.Y. Irish Rovers

Orville Hayles - Integral Kings

Joseph Kennedy - Lindenhurst S.C.

Jim Kilmeade - Glen Cove/Massapequa

Carlos Mendes - Mineola Portuguese

Richard Nuttall - A.C. Glen Cove

Huntley Swaby - Real Caribe

Ivica Vucenik - Istria S.C.